Handwoven Overshot Runner for Alice

 

We grew Cotton in Brooklyn!!! #urbanfarming #economiccrops

A post shared by Alice M Krieg & Carmen Devito (@wedigplants_groundworksgardens) on

A few months ago my friend Alice of Groundworks posted on Instagram about a cotton plant she had successfully grown in Brooklyn.

I offered to spin it, she accepted, and asked if I would be able to incorporate her cotton into a handwoven piece as a gift for her business partner. We agreed on a design for an overshot table runner (the draft is “Ferns and Flowers” from Bertha Gray Hayes,) and I got started.

Part two of the current project – #handspun #handspinning #cotton #charka

A post shared by Alison Russell (@alicatfiberarts) on

I picked out the seeds and carded it on cotton cards…

and spun the cotton on my charka.

Here is the small skein of cotton that resulted

I used commercial cotton for the bulk of the project, and was able to buy navy in the weight I wanted, but was unable to find the particular green and red-violet that I wanted, so I dyed those two colors. The small skein of white handspun was used as inlay in a couple of the overshot motifs, and as a stripe at one end of the runner.

Some border sampling before I start the main project. #handdyed #handwoven #overshot #dyersofinstagram #weaversofinstagram

A post shared by Alison Russell (@alicatfiberarts) on

Loom warped, and a few inches of sampling before the main project…

Finished!

alices-table-runner-1128165512

Leave a Reply

