Of Socks and Stones. Alas, no sealing wax, nor cabbages and kings.

My new “rocks” arrived a good week ago, and I’m still thinking hard about what I want to use them for, other than the classic “variations on a theme.”  I’ve been doing some of that just to keep myself in the right headspace, and I think it’s starting to work.  I’m feeling glimmerings of inspiration for Monday! 

The stone in the ring on the left is a peridot, even though you probably can’t tell from this shot-

I am, however, starting to regret my decision to go for a greater variety of stones of lower cost/quality over shelling out more money for larger lots of one or two stones, but with better cut.  My stone setting skills are not yet that flexible.  I have a set of stone-setting burs in a variety of sizes, but there are one or two that are missing that I think I will have to buy in order to set some of these stones.  The CZs I was setting earlier are machine-cut, and all fit perfectly.  These new stones have more size variation, and end up being just a smidge larger or smaller than the closest “matching” bur size.  Add to that my less-than-ideal setup for holding on to rings and earrings while I’m trying to set stones (sometimes it’s a two-handed process) and you have a good recipe for frustration 😦  

This has combined with my decision not to buy anything I can make at home, and has led to me spending more time knitting myself a new pair of socks than working in the studio.  I really need to cut that out and do my knitting after Scarlett gets home from school.  That was supposed to be the deal – I stay home and work in the studio during school hours.  Yes, socks are necessary, but I can work on those when Scarlett is home, so I should not use my precious and limited my-autistic-daughter-is-at-school hours for knitting.  On the other hand, these are going to be very nice, warm, decorative socks!

This is the “Cabled Corn ” pattern from Knitting Circles Around Socks, which I love not so much for the sock patterns (which are nice), but for the two-socks-at-once technique the author uses.  I will no longer suffer from Second Sock Syndrome!  For those unfamiliar with the condition, SSS is characterized by a tendency to knit the first sock in a given pattern, then get bored with the pattern and move on to something else.   The sad result is a large number of orphan socks.  Knitting them both at once does a great deal to alleviate this situation!  These socks are being knit in a handspun wool/silk blend I had hanging around.  I have a lot of handspun hanging around – eventually most of it will turn into something.  Right now it is becoming winter socks!
One thought on “Of Socks and Stones. Alas, no sealing wax, nor cabbages and kings.

Leave a Reply

